Peace and Love

My inbox has been absolutely rammed today with messages saying “oh my GOD have you seen the post over on the Joy of Knitting Facebook page??!” For those of you who don’t click links, I’ll transcribe it below:

“With the recent women’s march on Washington, I ask that you if you want yarn for any project for the women’s movement that you please shop for yarn elsewhere. The vulgarity, vile and evilness of this movement is absolutely despicable. That kind of behavior is unacceptable and is not welcomed at The Joy of Knitting. I will never need that kind of business to remain open. Two wrongs will never ever make it right.

As the owner of this business and a Christian, I have a duty to my customers and my community to promote values of mutual respect, love, compassion, understanding, and integrity. The women’s movement is counterproductive to unity of family, friends, community, and nation.

I do pray for these women. May the God work out His love in their hearts and continue to heal and unite Americans.

Elizabeth”

Take a second, breathe through your nose, calm down. Now, Elizabeth is a human being and that means she has the right to her own opinion (regardless of how hypocritical it may be or how much it conflicts with mine/yours), therefore I will not be saying any nasty things about her. I understand that many of you may be tempted to send her a lengthy message, leave a bad review, or drown her in pussyhats, but I strongly urge you not to. Instead, I suggest simply that you do not spend your money at her shop as she has requested.

In my 18 years of knitting I have only ever had the good fortune to meet knitters who are lovely, friendly, jovial, wonderful people. We are a community, a family spread across the globe and bonded by our love of the craft. Let us continue to be a bunch of happy folk and keep in mind the old adage ‘if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all’.

Peace and love folks, peace and love.
Muse, out.

 

P.S. I finished my mudkip socks

16177872_10210103772368592_7985574682575327211_o

Leave a Reply

